Who Will Host The Wolrd Cup in 2018 and 2022

Sepp Blatter announced today the winning bids for the 2018 and 2022 World Cup host countries. (Courtesy PanARMENIAN Photos)

By Kevin Koczwara

Brazil will host the 2014 World Cup. The South American country won the right to hold the next World Cup in the last round of voting. Brazil will also host the next Summer Olympics in 2012. The Brazilians have some hefty partying to plan, good thing the country is well known for its partying skills already, which should make the transition a breeze — if we are to believe the crime problem many of the major cities pose is being fixed up properly.

This round of FIFA’s World Cup voting was to settle the destination for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups. Those years may be far off in most peoples’ minds, but the planning needs to begin now if the elected hosts of 2018 and 2022 want to be 100 percent ready for their time in the soccer spotlight.

Allegations of corruption in the FIFA voting committee swirled in the news this week, but the bidding war went on uninterrupted. The bidding nations splashed out the cash on advertising campaigns and presentations. Countries pithed their country as the perfect place to host a World Cup, and as the next best place for the game of soccer to grow and develop in the world.

2018 Host Country: Russia


2022 Host Country: Qatar

Here’s how FIFA’s voting process works:

  • Delegates voted on the 2018 World Cup host first, then the 2022 . The vote is done by secret ballots and all eligible members of the FIFA Executive Committee can vote for both the 2018 and 2022 host of their choice.
  • For a host country to win the competition, a bidder must receive an absolute majority (50% + 1) of the votes of the FIFA Executive Committee members present.
  • In the event of a tie and only two bidders remain, the FIFA President will have the casting vote.
  • If there is tie in a round of votes and no country is selected as the majority winner, then the next round of voting will begin and the country with the lowest total from the previous round will be eliminated.
  • If there is a tie for the lowest number of votes in any round, an intermediate voting round will determine which of the tied bidders is eliminated.
  • When the final decision on the hosts has been taken, the result will be put in two envelopes and taken by the notary to the “Messe Zurich”. The envelopes was handed over to the FIFA President, Sepp Blatter, for the announcements.

Kevin Koczwara can be reached at Kevin.Koczwara@thesoccerguysonline.com.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s